Skip to content

Advertising vs. Marketing

June 2, 2014

One of my all time favorite questions is “What’s the difference between advertising and marketing?” The answers both entertain and frustrate me. Either answer provides an entry position to talk about my favorite subject, that of business! One of my other favorite questions is who is your ideal customer because I almost always hear “Everyone!” This is a bad and expensive answer and we will talk about this next time.
Advertising is the insane belief that everyone is your potential customer. Marketing is the reality that only certain people are your customer and the more you invest talking to them the better off you are.
When I hear the “everyone” answer I always follow up with “So, someone who is homeless is a good fit for your product or service?” I am told obviously not and then I refer to the everyone answer! I seriously doubt that the sales staff for Sky Mall Magazine will spend a lot of time marketing to Wal Mart or Big Lots. I know that they spend time calling on Cosmetic Surgeons and Hotel chains because they have a great market-match.
McDonalds is one of the few companies that can get away with the idea that most everyone, but NOT everyone is their customer. If you doubt that, think about a vegetarian and there you are.

I would love to hear some feedback and you can send that to steve@assaultmarketing.com If you are unsure if you should advertise or market or what the difference is for you please call me at 916-230-0176 or visit http://www.assaultmarketing.com I will give you at least an hour and we will arrive at a better place for your outreach guaranteed

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

